THE NATIVE AMERICAN CAUCUS OF THE OKLAHOMA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

The first Native American Caucus was formed during the Second Session of the 50th Legislature. The bi-partisan Caucus was formed to "educate the House membership about Native American issues and develop closer relationships with leaders of the state's 39 tribal governments" [of which 38 are federally recognized].

THE 19-MEMBER CAUCUS IS LEAD BY TWO CO-CHAIRS:

Rep. Chuck Hoskin serves as Minority Floor Leader and is a member of the Appropriations and Budget Committee; Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget; Public Safety Committee; Redistricting Eastern Oklahoma Subcommittee; and Veterans & Military Affairs Committee.

Rep. Dan Kirby is Vice-Chair of the Insurance Committee. He also serves as a member of the A&B Natural Resources and Regulatory Services Committee; Energy and Utility Regulation Committee; and Judiciary Committee.

Other Members include Representatives Lisa Billy (Chickasaw); Mike Christian (Choctaw); Doug Cox (Muscogee Creek); William Fourkiller (Cherokee); Larry Glenn (Cherokee); Fred Jordan (Cherokee); Steve Martin (Cherokee); Al McAffrey (Choctaw); Skye McNiel (Muscogee Creek); Jerry McPeak (Muscogee Creek); Anastasia Pittman (Seminole); Seneca Scott (Choctaw); T.W. Shannon (Chickasaw); Jerry Shoemake (Cherokee); Daniel Sullivan (Choctaw); Paul Wesselhoft (Citizen Potawatomi); and Cory Williams (Cherokee).

The first meeting of the Caucus took place on February 21, 2006, and subsequent meetings have been scheduled for the third Tuesday of each month during the legislative session. For more information on the Caucus, you may contact either of the Co-Chairs or members at the House of Representatives main number, (405) 521-2711.

The Joint Committee on State and Tribal Relations

The Joint Committee on State and Tribal Relations, created by statute in 1988 (74 O.S. §285(41)), represents the legislative branch of Oklahoma's state government during the compacting process. A total of 10 members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. The Committee Chair and Co-Chair positions rotate between the House and Senate every two years.

Under current law and with the exception of tobacco compacts and motor fuels contracts (which are otherwise provided for by law), cross-deputization agreements, Class III gaming compacts, Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) agreements, Motor Vehicle Licensing Compacts, and all other applicable agreements are reviewed by the Joint Committee on State and Tribal Relations and, if the agreements and compacts address all valid concerns and include all necessary criteria, approval is authorized by the Committee.

As of January 2011, the membership of the Joint Committee on State-Tribal Relations includes the following legislators:

Senate:

Senator Mike Johnson, VICE-CHAIR (R - Kingfisher) Senator Sean Burrage (D - Claremore) Senator Mike Mazzei (R - Tulsa) Senator Cliff Branan (R - Oklahoma City) Senator Bryce Marlatt (R - Woodward)

House:

Representative Paul Wesselhoft, CHAIR (R - Moore)

Representative Lisa J. Billy (R - Lindsay)

Representative Dan Kirby (R - Tulsa)

Representative Daniel Sullivan (R - Tulsa)

Representative John Trebilcock (R - Broken Arrow)

OKLAHOMA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NATIVE AMERICAN CAUCUS

Representative Lisa Billy (CHICKASAW) R-42 Purcell

Representative Mike Christian (CHOCTAW) R-93 Oklahoma City

Representative Doug Cox (MUSCOGEE CREEK) R-5 Grove Representative William Fourkiller (CHEROKEE) D-86 Stillwell Representative Larry Glenn (CHEROKEE) D-7 Miami Representative Fred Jordan (CHEROKEE) R-69 Jenks Representative Steve Martin (CHEROKEE) R-10 Bartlesville Representative AI McAffrey (CHOCTAW) D-88 Oklahoma City Representative Skye McNiel (MUSCOGEE CREEK) R-29 Bristow Representative Jerry McPeak (MUSCOGEE CREEK) D-13 Warner Representative Anastasia Pittman (SEMINOLE) D-99 Oklahoma City Representative Seneca Scott (CHOCTAW) D-72 Tulsa Representative T.W. Shannon (CHICKASAW) R-62 Lawton Representative Jerry Shoemake (CHEROKEE) D-16 Morris Representative Daniel Sullivan (CHOCTAW) R-71 Tulsa Representative Paul Wesselhoft (CITIZEN POTAWATOMI) R-54 Moore Representative Cory Williams (CHEROKEE) D-34 Stillwater